A soldier's view on pacifism...

Right & Wrong
_bradshawm

A soldier's view on pacifism...

Post by _bradshawm » Wed Jul 14, 2004 11:20 am

Hi everyone. This is my first posting to this forum, although I have been downloading and listening to Steve's MP3's for a couple months.

I just read your topical article on pacifism and was refreshed to actually find someone deal with it in a thorough and Biblical manner. I have been in the military for 25 years, and I have to admit that many of those years I have held my own contradictory beliefs as I tried to sort out what the Bible really says about the issues. I think one of the things that kept me from being more objective in dealing with scripture, was that pretty much every argument I ever heard was from an emotional standpoint by people affected by war (Vietnam Vets and their families), or were from religous people and was limited to "thou shalt not kill". It is easy to discredit those two arguments with a simple look at the OT, and all the killing that God sanctioned (something which I have still not rectified in my own thinking).

I am in almost total agreement with Steve, but I think there are a couple issues I would add as maybe not being the final answer, but add to the discussion somewhat and have helped me sort this out. The issue for me when I was younger was always to try and answer the "Thou shalt not kill" argument. I have come to the conclusion that that is not the issue. I think the crux of the issue is twofold. Who am I as a believer, and what are my responsibilities.