Is polygamy forbidden only for church leaders?

_Anonymous

Is polygamy forbidden only for church leaders?

Post by _Anonymous » Wed Feb 18, 2004 2:22 am

Hey Steve,

This is Aaron from YWAM Jacksonville. You spoke in my SOFM a few weeks back. I've got a question for you. What exactly does the Bible say about polygamy? We were having a discussion about cross-cultural issues the church has to deal with and that one came up and caused quite a stir with people on both sides:

1) polygamy is only forbidden for church leaders and
2) it's never allowed and always evil no matter what the cultural context.

I was just interested to hear your view on the subject.

Aaron
Last edited by Guest on Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm, edited 0 times in total.
Reason:

_Steve

Post by _Steve » Wed Feb 18, 2004 2:23 am

Hey Aaron!

So you want to get me into trouble? Whenever I am asked about polygamy, I am torn between giving the acceptable answer and giving the biblical answer. As a Bible teacher, I am required to give the latter, though it will make 90% of the Christian population angry at me.

Biblically, there is no law or command directly forbidding polygamy. In fact, the law made specific provision for a married man taking additional wives, so long as the first wife's "marriage rights" were not reduced by the introduction of the new wife (Ex.21:10). God Himself is even represented as having two wives simultaneously (Ezekiel 23:2ff). In a society where having children meant everything to a man, polygamy was often a solution to a first wife's barrenness (e.g. Abraham; Elkanah). In times where the male population was decimated by heavy war losses, and where widowhood was the worst conceivable state for women, polygamy might also be the lesser of two evils for bereft women (Isa.3:25 and 4:1).