Presenting the Gospel

Michelle

Presenting the Gospel

Post by Michelle » Sun Aug 25, 2013 10:40 am

jriccitelli (and mattrose) wrote:As a bible teacher, I am also helping Christians present their Gospel clearly, choose words wisely, and make a good logical argument because:
... we'd spend less time talking about how to talk about what we're talking about and more time talking about what we're talking about (You)
This quote is from a thread about something completely different — a debate (sort of) about evolution. It, the quote that is, kept coming to mind during this past week. I'd like to know how people present their gospel (well, the gospel of Christ) clearly, choose words wisely, and make good logical arguments.

How do YOU succinctly articulate the Gospel?

jeremiah

Re: Presenting the Gospel

Post by jeremiah » Tue Aug 27, 2013 9:59 am

I heard N.T. Wright say something like this in a podcast. I offer it of course knowing there are other ways to proclaim the kingdom of God, but it's stuck with me ever since I heard it:

...but if I only had a few moments I would tell very simply the story of Jesus... There was a man. He was a Jew. He believed God's purposes to rescue the world were coming to fulfillment. He died to take the weight of evil on himself. He rose to launch God's project and to invite the whole world to join in and find it for themselves...

"Go out and compel them to come in..." :)
Also unto thee, O Lord, belongeth mercy: for thou renderest to every man according to his work.

mattrose

Post by mattrose » Tue Aug 27, 2013 10:46 am