Calvinists say that non Calvinists have a problem with the d

SamMcNear

Calvinists say that non Calvinists have a problem with the d

Post by SamMcNear » Thu May 14, 2009 3:51 am

Calvinists say that non Calvinists have a problem with the doctrine of the Inherency of scripture.

This is due to the free will of man. They say God would have to override the free will of man “law” so that His word would be perfect. If He didn’t override the free will of man then the Bible would have mistakes due to man’s sinful nature. They say that if you hold to free will and non Calvinists views the doctrine of the Inherency of scripture is compromised.

I don’t understand this thinking, and I see it as flawed.

Why can’t God use men that deny their own will (which the authors of the bible did) to write His Inherent Word through them?

How does freewill take away the power of God to use men that have given themselves to be used by God?

I'm fairly new to this Calvinism, Arminianism & Open Theism debate. I would have to say I don't side with any side since all sides are man made doctrines. Yet Calvinism scares me the most since it seems to put the blame of the sin of man on God shoulders.

anyway it's all so confusing and I wonder, did God make His word confusing?

steve

Re: Calvinists say that non Calvinists have a problem with the d

Post by steve » Thu May 14, 2009 2:30 pm

No, it's people that make His word confusing.

The problem with the Calvinist argument that you describe above is two-fold. What I mean is that it a) misunderstands the free will of man, and b) probably misrepresents the concept of the inerrancy of scripture.