Hi everyone, and let's give a big hand to theology!

Introduce yourself, get to know others, and commune with one another!
DeGraff

Hi everyone, and let's give a big hand to theology!

Post by DeGraff » Wed Mar 16, 2016 5:51 pm

I've been a lurker, reading this forum for months. After 3 weeks of being vetted, the admin has given me the go-ahead for posting.

Like many of you, I've come through the long ordeal of shedding almost every doctrine I once held dear. I went forward and declared my loyalty and belief in Christ the week after I read "The Late Great Planet Earth" at the age of 13. It was a big improvement over "Chariots of the Gods" which I was reading the week before that. I'm not sure which book I find more unpleasant, but God came through with Hal Lindsey in spite of the content.

When I try to discuss theological topics with pastors, it sometimes feels like they are thinking "Isn't that sweet. He's actually interested in subjects I studied in seminary because I had to. Oh well, he'll lose interest soon enough." With laypersons, being interested in theology makes you the most boring kind of nerd there is. What neither understands is what it's like to be obsessed with understanding what the truth is (or getting as close as possible with the information we have).

It makes big difference whether the rapture is imminent or not, whether hell is eternal pain for one sin, or whether God has already decided each and every person's eternal destiny and they are powerless to change course. These are not like the proverbial arguing over how many angels can fit on the head of a pin.

Anyway, I look forward to joining in the discussions. I'm not as fluent in Preterism as many are here, so go easy on me when I ask dumb questions or present lame theories of my own.

Terry

morbo3000

Re: Hi everyone, and let's give a big hand to theology!

Post by morbo3000 » Thu Mar 17, 2016 1:45 pm

Welcome! Glad to have you. Look forward to hearing your input or questions.