Partial Preterists: 2 Thess 2:1-12?

End Times
remade

Partial Preterists: 2 Thess 2:1-12?

Post by remade » Tue Jun 02, 2020 10:55 am

I'm studying 1 and 2 Thessalonians in my private study time and just wonder what your thoughts are on 2 Thess 2:1-12 with Paul specifically seeming to reference 1 Thess 4:17ff in 2 Thess 2:1?

I would think that 1 Thess 4:15-17 is about the end of the world. What does that make 2 Thess 2 about though? Seventy AD and Vespasian? The RCC and the Papacy? Double fulfillment? It just seems odd (not impossible) that Paul would talk about something 2000+ years as okay to happen (2 Thess 1:1, parousia) whenever something else happens thousands of years prior (the remainder of 2 Thess 1:1-12).

What are your thoughts?
For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.
- II CORINTHIANS 5:21 ESV

TruthInLove

Re: Partial Preterists: 2 Thess 2:1-12?

Post by TruthInLove » Wed Jun 03, 2020 10:41 pm

Hi remade,

I'm a Partial Preterist, albeit, not your average one. I've evaluated the prevalent ideas that this Man of Lawlessness was the Papacy or some 1st century Roman ruler like Vespasian but I personally think the existing evidence supports a much different identity. I believe this Man of Lawlessness shares similarities with the Sea Beast of Revelation 13 and the 8th King-Beast of Revelation 17 and that all these entities are in fact the same. Given the established symbolism embodied in the number 8, the 8th-king Beast of Revelation 17 cannot be a first century Roman figure. In fact, it's not a Roman entity at all nor a single human being.