"Generational Curses" and "Soul Ties"

steve

"Generational Curses" and "Soul Ties"

Post by steve » Sun Mar 08, 2009 6:08 pm

I received the following email today. I thought I would share the question and my answer with the rest of you. I wasn't sure under which category would be best to post it, but this one seemed to be appropriate.

---------------------------------
Hello Steve,

This is Ingrid Johnston, you spoke in January on the SBS in Kona that I am a student in. I have a question regarding "Spiritual Warfare." The specifics are what do you know or what does the Bible actually teach on Generational Curses affecting believers and what do you know of the term Soul Ties? I have run into some interesting and controversial things on this and am trying to find out more information.
Blessings,
Ingrid

Hello Ingrid,

I have heard much about "generational curses" and a little about "soul ties." The main thing I could say about these subjects is that the Bible does not discuss them.

Generational curses are sometimes supported by appeal to Exodus 20:5; 34:7, and similar passages, which speak of God "visiting the iniquity of the fathers on the children to the third and fourth generation of them that hate me." This sometimes is mistaken to mean that the actual sins of a father are caused, or determined (by the curse of God), to be repeated by his descendants. However, for God to "visit iniquity" does not mean that He causes or promotes such behavior. It is a Hebrew idiom, meaning He "punishes" iniquity. In this case, God warns Israel that, if they become idolatrous, God will punish their idolatry in a manner that will negatively impact several generations of their descendants. This threat was fulfilled when God sent Judah into the Babylonian captivity, which extended to three or four generations of their offspring before God restored them to their own land.