My UR Undertones

philman

My UR Undertones

Post by philman » Mon Apr 13, 2009 1:37 pm

This post is more of a reflection, an experience, a take it for what its worth kind of diary excerpt.

I ghost around most of the time on this board and have been for 1.5 years now. My spiritual background is like the story of many "church" raised kid steeped in traditional theology, I even went to Bible College. Nobody, Not one person EVER mentioned the UR position for ANY of the scriptures that I studied. Not a single Sunday School Class, not one Bible Study Leader, Not one pamphlet or article of THOUSANDS that i read within my circle of life Mentioned UR as Plausible.

In fact a GOOGLE search link first did! :D

I don't intend to debate the issue here, to me i have found that this is more of a heart issue rather than the objective of systematic theology. I don't deny that it can come from a desire for a consistent theology. For me...my journey into the UR position started 3 years ago. As i looked into the faces of those that i loved I couldn't help wondering what "love" was and to what extent love would go to save.

Save? save from what. In my theological circles that was an obvious question. But how powerful is love, where does love extend and how far would it go? To me it was a question of love. Plain and simple. I really didn't care if my Systematic Theology (E.T view) held together because it didn't seem to reflect the deepest sentiments and joys of love and life. So I mentally started over.