Which Denomination?

For the discussion of the distinctives of the various mainstream Christian denominations
Bart

Which Denomination?

Post by Bart » Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:29 pm

My family and I are moving to a new small city - approximately 200,000. My background is Baptist but my view of the future of the church is vastly different than the Dispensational mind set that pervades Baptists. Oddly enough there are almost no 'non-denominational' churches in this very old city. The City is dominated by main line denominations. I am a believer in affiliating with a local church. Are there any suggestions out there as to what denominations to consider... I know all have pros and cons. My mom said if I ever find the perfect church I should not attend because I would ruine it! :) I may just stay Baptist and hope to find a family that is tolerant of my partial preterist/intramillennial views. Any suggestions welcome. Thanks Bart

RICHinCHRIST

Re: Which Denomination?

Post by RICHinCHRIST » Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:39 pm

Calvary Chapel is a great denomination. It depends on the pastor, but some can be very adamant in their pre-trib dispensationalism. I find myself not bringing up eschatology with my Calvary brethren, since it never really does much good. It's something I've come to live with. But overall, they focus on teaching the Bible verse-by-verse, which is good.

That's the only real denomination I am very familiar with (since I've only walked with the Lord five or six years). I also have been part of an Acts 29 denomination, but have recently left it. They don't focus on discipleship as much as Calvary, and their sermons tend to be more heady and intellectual. The Calvary style is very simple and usually focuses on topics that really matter.